Pinckney J. Harman Memorial Lectures

Past Meetings and News
History of the Club
Krieg Cortical Kudos Awards
Cowan and Palay Awards
Krieg Lifetime Achievement Awardees
Pinckney J. Harman Memorial Lectures
Other Cajal Club News
Proceedings of the Cajal Club
Membership/Dues/Donations Form
Video of Rita Levi-Montalcini's Krieg Lifetime Achievement Award Speach

For 19 years, Pinckney J. Harman was the first Apical Dendrite of the Cajal Club. “During those nineteen years as Apical Dendrite, Pink was the Cajal Club, holding it together, nurturing it, and helping it to mature (Excerpt from Dr. George Clark).” The Cajal Club used to have an annual banquet with  a featured dinner speaker. The Pinckney J. Harman Memorial Lecturer was a continuation of this banquet speaker. Elizabeth C. Crosby was one of the initial banquet speakers and she gave the first Pinckney J. Harman Memorial Lecture in 1969. In the past twenty years, this impressive list of speakers has featured several members of the National Academy of Sciences, USA (Drs. Bloom, Gage, Kaas, McEwen, Rakic, Shatz, Swanson, Roberts, Jones and Walsh), one member of the Institute of Medicine (Dr. Rubenstein) and three Nobel Laureates (Drs. Sakmann, Moser and Moser).

1951-52           Lorente de Nó, 1st Banquet speaker

1952-53           James W Papez, 2nd Banquet speaker

1953-54           J Walter Wilson, 3rd Banquet speaker

1954-55           AT Rasmussen, 4th Banquet speaker

1955-56           Elizabeth C. Crosby, 5th Banquet speaker

1957-58           Ernst & Berta Sharrer, 6th Banquet speakers

1959-60           ST Bok, 7th Banquet speakers

1961-62           E Horne Craigie, 8th Banquet speaker

1963-64           Murray L Barr, 9th Banquet speaker

1965-66           Walle JH Nauta, 10th Banquet speaker

1966-67           RD Lockhart, 11th Banquet speaker

1967-68           Adolf Hopf, 12th banquet speaker

1968-69           Elizabeth C. Crosby, 1st Pinckney J. Harman Lecturer

1969-70           Antonio Villasana

1970-71           JZ Young

1971-72           John Szentagothai

1972-73           Richard L Sidman

1973-74           René Couteaux

1974-75           Lennart Heimer

1975-76           Vernon Mountcastle

1976-77           Clement A Fox

1977-78           Eugene Roberts

1978-79           Carl Cotman

1979-80           Fred A Mettler

1980-81           HGJM Kuypers

1981-82           Bernice Grafstein

1982-83           Richard P Bunge

1983-84           Harvey Karten

1984-85           Constantino Sotelo

1985-86           Pasko Rakic

1986-87           Thomas A Woolsey

1987-88           Pasquale P Graziadei

1988-89           Edward G Jones

1989-90           Alan Peters

1990-91           Clifford B Saper

1991-92           Henry J Ralston III

1992-93           Gary W Van Hoesen

1993-94           Ford F Ebner

1994-95           Nicole M LeDouarin

1995-96           Marcus E. Raichle

1996-97           Jon H. Kaas

1997-98           Ray W. Guillery

1998-99           Bruce S McEwen

1999-00           Floyd E Bloom

2000-01           Fred H Gage

2001-02           Carla J Shatz

2002-03           Oswald Steward

2003-04           Not given

2004-05           Mark D'Esposito

2005-06           Bert Sakmann

2006-07           Ranulfo Romo

2007-08           Jonathan Horton

2008-09           Giacomo Rizzolatti

2009-10           Arnold Kriegstein

2010-11           Christopher Walsh

2011-12           Larry Swanson

2012-13           Pasko Rakic

2013-14           John Rubenstein

2014-15           Javier DeFelipe

2015-16           May-Britt Moser and Edvard Moser

2016-17           Arturo Alvarez-Buylla

2017-18           Luis Puellas



Click here for more information on Pinckney J. Harman.




The Cajal Club Archives