Krieg Lifetime Achievement Awardees

Throughout its existence, the Cajal Club has promoted the cause of neuroanatomy and neuroanatomists. It has also recognized important contributions made by scientists from this field by inviting them to give lectures at banquets in the early days, and subsequently give the keynote address at our scientific meetings, the Pinckney J. Harman Memorial Lecture. Since 1987, the Cajal Club has regularly awarded Krieg Cortical Kudos to senior and junior scientists in recognition of their research accomplishments in the field of the cerebral cortex under the auspices and generosity of a gift from Wendell and Roberta Krieg. In addition, the Cajal Club has awarded individuals on special occasions who have exhibited leadership in promoting the field of neuroscience or in supporting initiatives that have advanced neuroscience. For example, two awards were made in 2001 at the First International Meeting of the Cajal Club at the Cajal Institute in Madrid, Spain, where Constantino Sotelo and the King of Spain received the first Krieg Lifetime Achievement Awards. Others have been awarded at subsequent International Meetings.

The following is a list of the Krieg Lifetime Achievement Award recipients:

2001 - King Don Juan Carlos I of Spain
2001 - Constantino Sotelo
2002 - Pablo Rudomin

2006 - Anders Bjorklund
2007 - Ricardo Miledi
2009 - Rita Levi-Montalcini

2010 - Pasko Rakic and Paul Allen
2012 - Tomas Hokfelt
2016 - Gordon Shepherd